Owners of IPL Teams/Franchise and The Prices at Which They Were Bought

The spiralling controversy over the shareholders of the Kochi franhise has led to questions over the ownership of the eight franchisees now playing in the Indian Premier League.

Though most of the names of the shareholders of the franchisees have been in public domain, the spat between Lalit Modi and Shashi Tharoor has brought the focus back on them.

If Modi has questioned the ownership of the new franchise Kochi, the Kerala team’s shareholders want to know the owners of all the franchises if there is no confidentiality about them. The other franchise sold last month was bought by Sahara India. A couple of franchisees sold a small stake here and there, but most of the chief promoters of the eight franchisees remain intact. Below get details and Information on the different IPL teams, owners and prices they were purchased at.

Here is a List of All the Franchises in the Indian Premier League, their owners and the Price of Purchase:

Rajasthan Royals

The Jaipur team was bought by UK-based company Emerging Media for $67 million to own the team for a period of 10 years.

Suresh Chelaram, Lalit Modi’s brother-in-law and a Nigeria-based businessman, has 44.1% stake, UK-based businessman Manoj Badale has 32.4% stake while the rest is controlled by two companies promoted by Raj Kundra, actress Shilpa Shetty and media mogul Lachlan Murdoch.

Chennai Super Kings

The Chennai team was bought by India Cements for $91 million to own the team for 10 years. India Cements is headed by cricket board secretary N Srinivasan.

Bangalore Royal Challengers

The Bangalore team was bought by Vijay Mallya’s UB Group for $111.6 million.

Kings XI Punjab

The Mohali team was bought by Bollywood diva Preity Zinta, her former industrialist beau Ness Wadia, along with renowned industrialists Karan Paul and Mohit Burman for $76 million. Mohit is the brother of Modi’s step-son-in-law Gaurav.

Kolkata Knight Riders

The team is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta, who bought it for $75.09 million.

Deccan Chargers

The Hyderabad team was bought by Deccan Chronicle, a media house, for $107 million. Owners are Venkat Reddy and Daughter Gayatri Reddy.

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai team is owned by Mukesh Ambani’s Reliance Industries Limited for $111.9 million.

Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi IPL team is owned by GMR Holdings for $84 million.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Site By Keywords